Williams County's Mascot, Elmo
County Dog Laws & Regulations
Dog tag fees: A single tag is $16.00.
A Kennel License is $80.00 (available from Dog Warden only).
Why License Your Dog?
There is one exceptionally good reason for licensing your dog; if your animal is missing, the dog warden can quickly notify you that your pet has been found, enabling you to quickly claim him.
Section 955.12 of the Ohio Revised Code allows the county to hold a licensed dog for up to 14 days, after mailing a notice of its capture to the owner, before allowing it to be either sold or destroyed. (If a dog is unlicensed, the Law allows it to be either destroyed or sold after being held for only three days.)
Dog Tags May Be Issued By…
Service Dogs Are Permanently Registered
Service dogs (guide, leader and support animals) must also be licensed, but their fee is waived. Once they are registered with the county, they are permanently licensed by receiving a special tag.
Licensing Your Dog Is Easy and Inexpensive
If you own a dog that is over three months of age, stop by your County Auditor's Office, an authorized agent or online at www.doglicenses.us/OH/Williams between December 1 and the following January 31. Simply fill out the brief registration form and pay the annual fee per dog or kennel (available from Dog Warden only). H.B. 59 (effective December 1, 2013) allows individuals to register a dog for a period of one year ($16.00), three years ($48.00), or register the dog permanently ($160.00) rather than requiring annual registration as in current law. (Three year and permanent tags are available in the Auditor's office or from the Dog Warden).
Each dog receives a distinctive tag number (dog kennels receive five consecutively numbered tags).
Once your dog has been assigned a license, the license number and the information about him is permanently filed in the county's records.
If you obtain a dog after January 31, the Law requires its registration (Ohio Revised Code Section 955.01) within 30 days of your becoming the owner. There is a late registration fee if the registration is not obtained within 30 days of obtaining the dog. If you obtain a dog becoming 3 months of age or purchase a dog out of state after the 1st day of July, you have 90 days to register the dog. The fee is half-price. If purchasing a 3 year tag the period for the first year will be 83% of the original fee.
Ensure That Your Dog Stays Home
Ohio Law requires all dog owners keeping their animals "either physically confined or restrained upon the premises of the owner…by a leash, tether, adequate fence, supervision, or secure enclosure to prevent escape, or under reasonable control of some person, except when the dog is lawfully engaged in hunting accompanied by the owner…or a handler." (Ohio Revised Code 955.22)
Unless a dog is confined in a registered kennel, he must wear his license (tag) at all times. IF he is not wearing his tag, he is subject to impounding, sale, or destruction (Ohio Revised Code 955.10).
If your dog is impounded because he was not wearing his license and is not redeemed within three days, the dog warden may either have him humanely destroyed or sell him to any nonprofit Ohio institution or organization that is certified to engage in either teaching or researching the prevention of diseases of human beings or animals. The animal may also be donated to any nonprofit special agency engaged in training service dogs (Ohio Revised Code 955.16).
If Your Dog's Tag Is Lost…
Simply provide your County Auditor with proof of its loss and a duplicate tag will be issued for $5.00.
To Claim Your Dog If He's Been Impounded…
You need to go to your local pound (or, in some counties, the Humane Society is authorized to act as the county's dog warden) and pay the costs the county incurred for impounding and housing your dog. If your dog was not licensed when picked up, you must also purchase a registration tag before taking him home.
Your Dog Warden's Duties
Chapter 955 of the Ohio Revised Code lists the county dog warden's duties. They include:
Section 955.24 also states "No person shall obstruct or interfere with anyone lawfully engaged in capturing an unregistered dog or making an examination of a dog wearing a tag."
According to the Ohio Revised Code, section 955.02, a kennel owner is a "person, partnership, firm, company, or corporation professionally engaged in the business of breeding dogs for hunting or sale." When a person breeds dogs avowedly as a hobby, "but permits sales to become such a factor that he advertises for sale" the breeding activity and dogs, that person "is professionally engaged in the business of dog breeding" and should be registered as a kennel.
The term "kennel" means any pack or collection of dogs, over the age of three months, kept together for the purpose of hunting or for sale. (Ohio Revised Code 955.04)
If Your Dog Moves To A New Home
The new owner is required to record the ownership change with the County Auditor. They must present a transfer of ownership certificate, signed by the former owner, and pay the $5.00 fee.
Ensure That Your Dog Stays Healthy
By the time your dog is 3-4 months old, it should be immunized against rabies and other communicable diseases. Depending on which vaccine your veterinarian uses, your dog will need booster shots every one or three years.
DOG TAGS CAN BE PURCHASED AT THE FOLLOWING
(Kennel Licenses available only from Dog Warden)
|Williams County Auditor's Office Sell All Year||Court House||Bryan||419-636-5639|
|Buckeye Veterinary Hospital (12/1/14 - 1/31/15)||03422 ST RT 49||Edgerton||419-298-2339|
|Dog Warden, Pam Stark Sell All Year||09992 CO RD 16||Bryan||419-636-4659|
|Edon Farmers Co-Op (12/1/14 - 1/31/15)||205 S Michigan||Edon||419-272-2121|
|Fountain City Veterinary Hospital (12/1/14 - 1/31/15)||1202 S Main St||Bryan||419-636-5081|
|Handyman Hardware & Paints (12/1/14 - 1/31/15)||111 W Jackson St||West Unity||419-924-9070|
|Hometown Hardware (12/1/14 - 1/31/15)||119 N State St||Pioneer||419-737-2789|
|Montpelier Edon Farmers Co-Op (12/1/14 - 1/31/15)||11715 Co Rd 13||Montpelier||419-485-3117|
|Montpelier Do-It-Best Hardware (12/1/14 - 1 31/15)||1450 Whitaker Way||Montpelier||419-485-3418|
|Stryker Farmers Exchange (12/1/14 - 1/31/15)||114 S West St||Stryker||800-336-0656|
|Town & Country Sell All Year||1210 E High St||Bryan||419-636-8696|
|Williams County Humane Society Sell All Year||09464 CO RD 13||Bryan||419-551-1736|
The current price of a single license is $16.00. The current price of a kennel license is $80.00. Dog Tags are on sale at the above locations December 1, 2014 thru January 31, 2015, without penalty. All issuing agencies except the Auditor's office will charge a fee of $.75 per license or kennel license. Online registration is available at www.doglicenses.us/OH/Williams/. All dogs, three months or older, are required to have a license. (O.R.C. 955.01) A SIXTEEN DOLLAR ($16.00) PENALTY will be added for each license and AN EIGHTY DOLLAR ($80.00) PENALTY will be added for each kennel license after January 31, 2015.
Dog Tag Application